Chancellor Douglas A. Girod

University Research Awards

UPDATE: Given guidance from university and health officials related to concerns surrounding COVID-19, this event will not be held as originally scheduled on April 22. Check back for additional details as they become available.

As one of our nation’s leading public research universities, KU has a special role in fostering a culture of research that addresses society's grand challenges. As part of this effort, we’re hosting a new event this year that will celebrate the recipients of our university’s top research awards.

Please join Chancellor Girod and Incoming Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Bichelmeyer to celebrate our research-productive faculty in disciplines across the university.

This new event will bring together the winners of our university’s top research awards and commemorate them on one night. These awards include the University Scholarly Achievement Awards, the Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards, and the KU Research Staff & Postdoctoral Achievement Awards. These awards recognize researchers from our Lawrence and KU Medical Center campuses and beyond.

The event is free and open to the public.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
Chancellor's Vision

The mission of the University of Kansas is to lift students and society by educating leaders, building healthy communities, and making discoveries that change the world.

We will do that by raising the expectations we have for ourselves, the aspirations we have for our state, and the hopes we have for our world.