KU community invited to University Research Awards on April 11


As one of the nation’s leading research universities, KU strives to foster a culture of research and discovery to address society's grand challenges. With this in mind, I invite you to join me for our annual University Research Awards at 7 p.m. Thursday, April 11, at the Jayhawk Welcome Center.

This event is an opportunity to highlight great research happening across our campuses and celebrate this year’s winners of our top research awards, listed below.

All members of the KU community are invited to attend. We ask that you RSVP to assist in our planning. Heavy appetizers and drinks will be served.

I look forward to seeing you April 11.



Douglas A. Girod
University of Kansas


Chancellors Club Research Award

  • John Thyfault — professor, Department of Cell Biology & Physiology and Department of Internal Medicine-Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Clinical Pharmacology; director, KU Diabetes Institute

Research Postdoctoral Achievement Award

  • Georgios Konstantinos Krintiras — postdoctoral researcher, Department of Physics & Astronomy

Research Staff Achievement Award

  • Pegah Naemi Jimenez — research associate, School of Social Welfare

Steven F. Warren Research Achievement Award

  • Tyler Hicks — assistant research professor, director of quantitative methodology, KU Center on Developmental Disabilities

Higuchi-KU Endowment Research Achievement Awards (four categories)

Irvin E. Youngberg Award in the Applied Sciences

  • Jie Han — professor, Department of Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering

Olin K. Petefish Award in the Basic Sciences

  • Wen-Xing Ding — professor, Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology & Therapeutics

Balfour S. Jeffrey Award in the Humanities and Social Sciences

  • John Colombo — professor, Department of Psychology; director, Life Span Institute

Dolph C. Simons Sr. Award in the Biomedical Sciences

  • David Poole — professor, Department of Kinesiology and Department of Physiology, Kansas State University

University Scholarly Achievement Awards

  • Four winners to be announced soon.